Scott Perry

District I

Scott Perry is a native and lifetime resident of Rapides Parish, Louisiana.

Mr. Perry is currently serving his sixth term of office on the Rapides Parish Police Jury and represents District I, which is mostly composed of Ward 8 of Rapides Parish, including the Kellyland and Walnut Grove Subdivisions.

Mr. Perry is married to Doris Lee Perry, they have 5 children and 11 grandchildren.  They attend Newman United Methodist Church in Alexandria.

He is the owner of Scott Perry, Jr. Sanitation Service and Scott Perry, Jr. and Son Vault Services.  He has been a self-employed local businessman for over thirty-five years.

Mr. Perry is a graduate of Peabody Senior High School and attended Louisiana College, having received certificates in several management courses.

Mr. Perry is a member of the Administrative Board and a Certified Lay Speaker for Newman United Methodist Church, an elected member of the Board of Trustees of the Methodist Foundation (Louisiana Conference), a member and past Worshipful Master of Silver Trowel Lodge No. 18, served with the Parish Non-Partisan Citizens Advisory Committee, and a Board Member of the Concerned Citizens of Cenla.

Mr. Perry has received numerous awards including the Omega Psi Phi Outstanding Businessman Award, Delta Sigma Theta Outstanding Minority Economic Development Award for 1986 and 1987; Concerned Citizens of Cenla Recycling Service Award 1989-91; and Small Businessman of the Year Award for 1998.

He is currently serving as Chairman of the Courthouse and Tourism Committee and also serves on the Finance Committee; Public Works, Watershed and Agricultural Affairs Committee; Workforce Development and Municipal Liaison Committee; Grants, Economic Planning and Development Committee; Parochial Board Liaison and Legal Committee; Personnel, Elections and Health Committee; and Insurance, Ambulance, Fire and Homeland Security Committee of the Rapides Parish Police Jury.

Mr. Perry is a member of the National Association of County Officials and serves on the Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee and a member of the National Association of Black County Officials.

Current Vice President, 2016