RAPIDES PARISH POLICE JURY

SPECIAL SESSION JUNE 22, 2017

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, met in Special Session at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, 701 Murray Street, Alexandria, Louisiana, on Thursday, June 22, 2017, at 10:30 a.m. (Central Standard Time), pursuant to the provisions of a written notice given to each and every member thereof and duly posted in the manner required by law, viz:

JUNE 20, 2017

NOTICE OF SPECIAL POLICE JURY MEETING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a special meeting of the Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, has been ordered and called and will be held at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, Alexandria, Louisiana on Thursday, June 22, 2017, at 10:30 a.m., for the following purposes to wit:

- 1. Motion to award Bid #2569 Various Road Improvements to lowest bidder, Gilchrist Construction Company for the amount of \$1,679,092.00 to be paid from various Road Districts as recommended by the Parish Engineer and Purchasing Agent.
- 2. Motion to accept the resignation of Mr. Talmadge Walker, II on the Rapides Parish Coliseum Authority Board of Commissioners, waive the thirty day announcement rule and appoint Mr. Don Myers to fill the unexpired term. Term will expire December 13, 2021.
- 3. Any other business that may properly come before the Police Jury.

BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT

Laurel Smith, Secretary Rapides Parish Police Jury

There were present: Craig Smith, President, Scott Perry, Jr., Vice President, and Police Jurors; Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Theodore Fountaine, Jr., Richard Vanderlick, Oliver "Ollie" Overton, Jr., Sean McGlothlin and Richard Billings.

Also present were: Mr. Bruce Kelly, Treasurer; Dennis Woodward, Public Works Director; Shane Trapp, Courthouse Building Superintendent; Phillip Terrell, District Attorney; Thomas O. Wells, Legal Counsel and Ms. Laurel Smith, Secretary.

The invocation was given by Mr. Dennis Woodward.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Richard Vanderlick.

SPECIAL MEETING June 22, 2017

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of said Parish by Hon. Richard Billings, President, who welcomed all present and then stated that the Police Jury was ready for the transaction of business.

The President asked if there was any public comment on any agenda item, to which there was no response.

On motion by Mr. Joe Bishop, seconded by Mr. Richard Vanderlick, to award Bid #2569 – Various Road Improvements to lowest bidder, Gilchrist Construction Company for the amount of \$1,679,092.00 to be paid from various Road Districts, as recommended by the Parish Engineer and Purchasing Agent. On vote the motion carried.

On motion by Mr. Bubba Moreau, seconded by Mr. Richard Billings, to accept the resignation of Mr. Talmadge Walker, II, on the Rapides Parish Coliseum Authority Board of Commissioners, waive the thirty (30) day announcement rule and appoint Mr. Don Myers to fill the unexpired term. Term will expire December 13, 2021. On vote the motion carried.

On motion by Mr. Ollie Overton, seconded by Mr. Richard Billings, there being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Laurel Smith, Secretary

Rapides Parish Police Jury

Craig Smith, President

Rapides Parish Police Jury