# RAPIDES PARISH POLICE JURY

#### SPECIAL SESSION OCTOBER 18, 2016

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, met in Special Session at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, 701 Murray Street, Alexandria, Louisiana, on Tuesday, October 18, 2016, at 9:00 a.m. (Central Standard Time), pursuant to the provisions of a written notice given to each and every member thereof and duly posted in the manner required by law, viz:

October 14, 2016

### NOTICE OF SPECIAL POLICE JURY MEETING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a special meeting of the Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, has been ordered and called and will be held at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, Alexandria, Louisiana on Tuesday, October 18, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., for the following purposes to wit:

- 1. Motion to go into Executive Session to discuss the professional competence of the Members of The Rapides Parish Coliseum Authority and its Director, in accordance with the provisions of LSA R.S. 42.17 (A)(1).
- 2. Any other business that may properly come before the Police Jury.

# BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT

Laurel Smith, Secretary Rapides Parish Police Jury

There were present: Craig Smith, President, Scott Perry, Jr., Vice President, and Police Jurors; Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Theodore Fountaine, Jr., Richard Vanderlick, Sean McGlothlin and Richard Billings.

Absent was Police Juror Oliver "Ollie" Overton.

Also present were Mr. Bruce Kelly, Treasurer; Ms. Elaine Morace, WIA Operations Director; Mr. Thomas O. Wells, Legal Counsel; Mr. Phillip Terrell, District Attorney and Ms. Laurel Smith, Secretary.

Also present were Coliseum Authority Members: Jimbo Thiels, Darren Sigur, James Rachal, Alfred Rachal, Edmond Hays, Grady Blackwell and Coliseum Executive Director, Richard Karamatic.

The invocation was given by Mr. Richard Billings.

#### SPECIAL MEETING October 18, 2016

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Scott Perry.

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of said Parish by Hon. Craig Smith, President, who welcomed all present and then stated that the Police Jury was ready for the first item of business.

The President asked if there was any public comment on any agenda item, to which there was no response.

On motion by Mr. Richard Vanderlick, seconded by Mr. Scott Perry, to go into Executive Session to discuss the professional competence of the Members of The Rapides Parish Coliseum Authority and its Director, in accordance with the provisions of LSA R.S. 42.17 (A)(1).

Roll call vote was as follows:

YEAS: Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Theodore Fountaine, Jr., Richard Vanderlick, Richard Billings, Scott Perry, Jr. and Craig Smith
NAYS: Sean McGlothlin
ABSENT: Oliver "Ollie" Overton
On roll call vote the motion carried 7-1.

#### \*\*\*EXECUTIVE SESSION\*\*\*

Police Juror Ollie Overton entered the meeting at 9:20 a.m. while executive session was convened.

On motion by Mr. Richard Billings, seconded by Mr. Richard Vanderlick, at 9:44 a.m., to come out of executive session. On vote the motion carried.

On motion by Mr. Richard Vanderlick, seconded by Mr. Richard Billings, there being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:44 a.m.

Laurel Smith, Secretary Rapides Parish Police Jury Craig Smith, President Rapides Parish Police Jury