RAPIDES PARISH POLICE JURY

SPECIAL SESSION OCTOBER 23, 2012

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, met in Special Session at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, 701 Murray Street, Alexandria, Louisiana, on Tuesday, October 23, 2012, at 3:30 p.m. (Central Standard Time), pursuant to the provisions of a written notice given to each and every member thereof and duly posted in the manner required by law, viz:

October 17, 2012

NOTICE OF SPECIAL POLICE JURY MEETING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a special meeting of the Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, has been ordered and called and will be held at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, Alexandria, Louisiana, on Tuesday, October 23, 2012, at 3:30 p.m., for the following purposes to-wit:

- 1. Motion to discuss and relocate displaced polling precinct at Martin Park Elementary.
- 2. Any other business that may properly come before the Police Jury.

BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT

Angela T. Voss, Secretary Rapides Parish Police Jury

There were present: Honorable Oliver Overton, Jr., President; and Police Jurors Joe Bishop; Scott Perry, Jr.; Theodore Fountaine, Jr.; Davron "Bubba" Moreau; Craig Smith; Richard Billings; and Sean McGlothlin. Absent: Richard Vanderlick, Vice President.

Also present were Mr. Tim Ware, Treasurer; Mr. Dennis Woodward, Public Works Director; Mr. Shane Trapp, Courthouse and Jail Building Superintendent; Chief Randy McCain, Fire District No. 2; Ms. Joanell Wilson, Registrar; Mr. Thomas O. Wells, Legal Counsel; and Ms. Angela T. Voss, Parish Secretary.

The invocation was given by Mr. Richard Billings.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Theodore Fountaine.

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of said Parish by Hon. Oliver Overton, Jr., President, who welcomed all present and then stated that the Police Jury was ready for the transaction of business.

Motion by Mr. Theodore Fountaine, seconded by Mr. Craig Smith, to relocate the polling place of Voting Precinct C21 A-K and L-Z from the Martin Park Elementary School to Newman United Methodist Church, 5700 Oran Street, Alexandria, as recommended by the Registrar of Voters in response to a fire, and

SPECIAL SESSION OCTOBER 23, 2012

authorize submission of the polling place change to the State for approvals and US Department of Justice for preclearance. On vote the motion carried.

Vote: Motion passed (summary: Yes = 7, No = 0, Abstain = 1).
Yes: Craig Smith, Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Oliver Overton, Jr., Richard Billings, Sean McGlothlin, Theodore Fountaine Jr.
Abstain: Scott Perry, Jr.
Absent: Richard Vanderlick.

Motion by Mr. Richard Billings, seconded by Mr. Sean McGlothlin, to authorize to enter into a polling place lease, as recommended by the Secretary of State, and authorize the President to sign same. On vote the motion carried.

Vote: Motion passed (summary: Yes = 7, No = 0, Abstain = 1).
Yes: Craig Smith, Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Oliver Overton, Jr., Richard Billings, Sean McGlothlin, Theodore Fountaine Jr.
Abstain: Scott Perry, Jr.
Absent: Richard Vanderlick.

Motion by Mr. Richard Billings, seconded by Mr. Joe Bishop, to authorize the Public Works Director to hire a Temporary Park Attendant at a rate of \$8.00 per hour until the permanent position can be filled through Civil Service for the Cotile Recreation Area to be paid from the Watershed Maintenance Salaries line item. On vote the motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Joe Bishop, seconded by Mr. Scott Perry, Jr., to request a letter of support from our Louisiana Legislative Delegates in support of the Rapides Parish Coliseum millage tax. On vote the motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Theodore Fountaine, seconded by Mr. Oliver Overton, Jr., to request up to \$7,500 for a mail out to Rapides Parish voters for Rapides Parish Coliseum promotional material, as approved by Legal Counsel to be paid out of General Funds.

Vote: Motion passed (summary: Yes = 5, No = 3, Abstain = 0).
Yes: Craig Smith, Oliver Overton, Jr., Richard Billings, Scott Perry, Jr., Theodore Fountaine Jr.
No: Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Sean McGlothlin.
Absent: Richard Vanderlick.

Motion by Mr. Joe Bishop, seconded by Mr. Bubba Moreau, to waive the thirty (30) day announcement rule and appoint Ms. Bonnie Lemoine to the Rapides Finance Authority, representing District A, to fill the unexpired term of Ms. Bobbi Clifton, for a six (6) year term, term will expire on December 8, 2014. On vote the motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Scott Perry, Jr., seconded by Mr. Theodore Fountaine, to add the following motion to the agenda. On vote the motion carried.

SPECIAL SESSION OCTOBER 23, 2012

Motion by Mr. Richard Billings, seconded by Mr. Sean McGlothlin, to request the citizens of the rural areas of Rapides Parish to observe Halloween on Wednesday, October 31, 2012, between the hours of 5:30 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. On vote the motion carried.

Vote: Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote (**summary:** Yes = 8). **Yes:** Craig Smith, Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Oliver Overton, Richard Billings, Scott Perry, Sean McGlothlin, Theodore Fountaine Jr. **Absent:** Richard Vanderlick.

Motion by Mr. Sean McGlothlin, seconded by Mr. Joe Bishop, that there being no further business, the meeting be declared adjourned. On vote the motion carried at 3:39 p.m.

Angela T. Voss, Secretary Rapides Parish Police Jury Oliver Overton, Jr., President Rapides Parish Police Jury