## RAPIDES PARISH POLICE JURY

## SPECIAL SESSION OCTOBER 4, 2021

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, met in Special Session at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, 701 Murray Street, Ste. 201, Alexandria, Louisiana, on Monday, October 4, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. (Central Standard Time), pursuant to the provisions of a written notice given to each member thereof and duly posted in the manner required by law, viz:

## October 1, 2021

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a special meeting of the Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, has been ordered and called and will be held at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, Alexandria, Louisiana on Monday, October 4, 2021 at 2:00 p.m., for the following purposes to wit:

- 1. Receive the Committee recommendation for an appointment of a new Rapides Parish Registrar of Voters to fill the current vacancy.
- 2. Appointment of a new Rapides Parish Registrar of Voters.

## BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT

Laurel Smith, Secretary Rapides Parish Police Jury

There were present: Craig Smith, President, Oliver "Ollie" Overton, Jr., Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Joe Bishop, Theodore Fountaine, Jr., Rusty Wilder, Sean McGlothlin, David Johnson and Doris Perry.

Also present were: Ms. Theresa Pacholik, Treasurer; Ms. Donna Andries, Sales & Use Tax Administrator; Ms. Linda Sanders, Civil Service Director; Mr. Greg Jones, Legal Counsel; and Ms. Laurel Smith, Secretary.

The invocation was given by Mr. David Johnson.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Joe Bishop.

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of said Parish by Hon. Craig Smith, President, who welcomed all present and then stated that the Police Jury was ready for the transaction of business.

The President asked if there was any public comment on any agenda item, to which there was no response.

The first item on the agenda was to receive the Committee recommendation for an appointment of a new Rapides Parish Registrar of Voters to fill the current vacancy.

The President stated he would like to waive item number one and move on to item number two.

On motion by Mr. David Johnson, seconded by Mr. Ollie Overton, to waive item number one. On vote the motion carried. Mr. Sean McGlothlin voted nay.

On motion by Mr. Ollie Overton, seconded by Mr. David Johnson, to appoint Ms. Sandra Bonnette as the new Rapides Parish Registrar of Voters.

Roll call vote was as follows:

Yea: Doris Perry, David Johnson, Rusty Wilder, Theodore Fountaine, Jr.,

Joe Bishop, Davron "Bubba" Moreau and Oliver "Ollie" Overton, Jr.

Nay: Sean McGlothlin

Abstain: none

Craig Smith did not vote.

On roll call vote the motion carried 7 to 1.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:13 p.m.

Laurel Smith, Secretary Craig Smith, President

Rapides Parish Police Jury

Craig Smith, President Rapides Parish Police Jury