RAPIDES PARISH POLICE JURY SPECIAL SESSION NOVEMBER 7, 2024

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, met in Special Session at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, 701 Murray Street, Ste. 201, Alexandria, Louisiana, on Thursday, November 7, 2024, at 2:30 p.m. (Central Standard Time), pursuant to the provisions of a written notice given to each and every member thereof and duly posted in the manner required by law, viz:

November 6, 2024

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a special meeting of the Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, has been ordered and called and will be held at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, Alexandria, Louisiana on **Thursday**, **November 7**, **2024**, at **2:30 p.m.**, for the following purposes to wit:

- 1. Receive an update from Betty Jo Bourgeois on the proposed tax bills.
- 2. Motion to receive nominations and make an appointment to fill the interim vacancy for Police Juror, District B, Rapides Parish, created by the resignation of Mr. Joseph "Joe" Bishop, effective immediately. (Mr. McGlothlin)
- 3. Motion to receive nominations for Vice-President to fulfill the unexpired term of Mr. Sean McGlothin for FY2024, as a result of vacancy created by resignation of Mr. Joe Bishop.
 (Mr. McGlothlin)
- 4. Motion to adopt a Proclamation to call a special election to fill the vacancy in the unexpired term of Police Juror, District B, Rapides Parish, created by the resignation of Mr. Joseph "Joe" Bishop, to be on the primary election March 29, 2025 and general election May 3, 2025 balloting, qualifying dates of January 29, 30, 31, 2025.

 (Mr. McGlothlin)
- 5. Motion to adopt a Proclamation to call a special election to fill the vacancy in the unexpired term of Clerk of Court, Rapides Parish, created by the retirement of Ms. Robin Hooter, to be on the primary election March 29, 2025 and general election May 3, 2025 balloting, qualifying dates of January 29, 30, 31, 2025.

 (Mr. McGlothlin)
- 6. Motion to ratify authorization to lift the Burn Ban in Rapides Parish at 12:00 pm on November 6, 2024. (Mr. McGlothlin)
- 7. Any other business that may properly come before the Police Jury.

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of said Parish by Hon. Sean McGlothlin, President, who welcomed all present and then called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

RAPIDES PARISH POLICE JURY SPECIAL SESSION NOVEMBER 7, 2024

There were present: Sean McGlothlin, President, Craig Smith, Parrish Giles and Jay Scott.

Absent were Police Jurors: Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Ernest Nelson, Danny Bordelon, Oliver "Ollie" Overton, Jr.

Also present were: Ms. Theresa Pacholik, Secretary/Treasurer; Mr. Gregory L. Jones, Legal Counsel; Ms. Sarah Vidrine, Ms. Devon Davis, Ms. Angie Branton, Ms. Sharon Neal, Ms. Betty Jo Bourgeois, Mr. Shane Trapp, Ms. Linda Sanders, Ms. Sherry Ledington, Ms. Sandra Bonnette, Ms. Sherri Melder, Ms. Denise Kelso, Ms. Brittany Jefferson, Ms. Marla West, Ms. Debra Wess, Mr. Bruce Kelly, Mr. Stephen Mansour, Rev. Randy Harris, Mayor David Butler, Mayor Gail Wilkings, Mr. Jack Henton, Mr. Alex Robertson, Mr. Andrew Stokes, KALB and Ms. Melissa Gregory.

There was no quorum present; therefore, the President ruled the meeting was unable to convene at 2:32 p.m.

President McGlothlin apologized to those in attendance for the lack of a quorum. He also stated he would be open to answers any questions from the media or audience.

Theresa Pacholik, Secretary/Treasurer	Sean McGlothlin, President
Rapides Parish Police Jury	Rapides Parish Police Jury