The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, met in Special Session at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, 701 Murray Street, Ste. 201, Alexandria, Louisiana, on Thursday, April 10, 2025, at 11:00 a.m. (Central Standard Time), pursuant to the provisions of a written notice given to each and every member thereof and duly posted in the manner required by law, viz:

April 8, 2025

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a special meeting of the Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, has been ordered and called and will be held at its regular meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, Alexandria, Louisiana on **Thursday, April 10, 2025 at 11:00 a.m.**, for the following purposes to wit:

- 1. Introduction by President Smith
- 2. Public Presentations by Pafford EMS and Acadian Ambulance for Ambulance Provider Services in Rapides Parish
- 3. Public Comments from Citizens on Agenda Item #2 and Item #6 Ambulance Provider Services for Rapides Parish [3-minute limitation per person; 2-hour maximum total time]
- 4. Receive Report by Dr. Paul Coreil, Ambulance Advisory Committee Chairman.
- 5. Executive Session R.S.17(A)(1) Discussion of professional competence and character with Pafford EMS and Acadian Ambulance;
- 6. Public Police Jury discussion/action for the award of a public contract for Ambulance Provider Services in Rapides Parish pursuant to R.S. 39:1593 & R.S. 42:16 & R.S. 42:17;
- 7. Adjournment

The Police Jury of the Parish of Rapides, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of said Parish by Hon. Craig Smith, President, who welcomed all present and then called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

The invocation was given by Mr. Randy Wiggins.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Sean McGlothlin.

There were present: Craig Smith, President and Police Jurors: Davron "Bubba" Moreau, Randy Wiggins, Randy Harris, Danny Bordelon, Oliver "Ollie" Overton, Jr., Sean McGlothlin, Parrish Giles and Jay Scott.

Absent: None.

Also present were: Ms. Theresa Pacholik, Secretary/Treasurer; Mr. Gregory L. Jones, Legal Counsel; Ms. Devon Davis; Ms. Debra Wess; Sheriff Mark Wood; Rev.

Joseph Franklin; Ms. Lisa Walker; Mr. Colin Vedros, KALB; and Ms. Melissa Gregory, Town Talk; Mr. Jack Henton, Urban Cast; Sheriff Steven McCain; Hon. Phillip Terrell; Ms. Kay Michiels, Chief Sam Allen, Chief April Ward, Chief Roger Ramos; Chief David Corley; Mr. Tommy Carnline; Dr. Paul Coreil; Mr. Sherman Fookes; Representatives from Pafford EMS; and Representatives from Acadian Ambulance.

President Smith went over the members who served on the Ambulance Advisory Committee and their work. He gave a brief statement on how the Committee unanimously voted to stay with a Sole Provider and the updated changes to the adopted Ordinance for Ambulance Services. President Smith went into further detail of the scoring of the proposals received by the Committee and the scoring method they used. He stated Acadian Ambulance and Pafford EMS would give a public presentation, and public comment would be allowed with a three (3) minute time limit per person with a two (2) hour maximum.

Mr. Stephen Sutton, Public Information Officer for Pafford EMS, introduced the representatives of Pafford in attendance at the meeting. He went into detail of what Pafford EMS is about, the services they provided and the importance of the people over profits.

Mr. Paul Fuselier, Government Relations Officer for Acadian Ambulance and Mr. Justin Back, President of Acadian Ambulance, discussed who Acadia Ambulance is, the accreditation they have and how Acadian Ambulance can continue to serve Rapides Parish. President Back discussed the various communities Acadian has served and how they have served the communities and parishes throughout Louisiana for over fifty-three (53) years.

President Smith asked for public comment on the two (2) provider presentations and contract for EMS Services in Rapides Parish. A three (3) minute time limit will be enforced for those who elect to comment and of the citizens in attendance, eleven (11) addressed the Jury and audience with comments.

Dr. Paul Coreil, Chairman of the Ambulance Advisory Committee, provided a report to the Jurors and audience on the recommendation of the highest score, results of reference checks for Pafford EMS and Acadian Ambulance from various communities and entities, and the biggest challenge seems to be meeting response time requirements for both Providers, positive recommendations from the Committee for you all to consider are as follows:

- 1) 24/7 ambulances on duty in Rapides Parish with twelve (12) ALS units and at least 6 BLS units
- 2) Reassurances of no issues with transition from both providers
- 3) Mass Casualty situations and how they providers plan to respond
- 4) Strong relationships with fire departments and local police/sheriff departments to build confident relationships amongst first responders
- 5) 90% response time compliance
- 6) Making sure the new committee/board enforces the new ordinance and penalties if applicable.

7) Optional one (1) year probationary period for the contract and then extend after the one-year period.

On motion by Mr. Ollie Overton, seconded by Mr. Randy Harris to enter into Executive Session - R.S.17(A)(1) Discussion of professional competence and character with Pafford EMS and Acadian Ambulance;

On vote the matter carried unanimously at 12:22 p.m.

Roll call vote was as followed:

YEAS: Randy Wiggins, Bubba Moreau, Ollie Overton, Danny

Bordelon, Jay Scott, Randy Harris, Parrish Giles, Sean

McGlothlin and Craig Smith.

NAYS: None ABSENT: None ABSTAINING: None

On roll call vote the motion carried 9-0.

### \*\*\*EXECUTIVE SESSION\*\*\*

On motion by Mr. Ollie Overton, seconded by Mr. Danny Bordelon, to come out of Executive Session. On vote the motion carried unanimously at 3:58 p.m.

Roll call vote was as followed:

YEAS: Randy Wiggins, Bubba Moreau, Ollie Overton, Danny

Bordelon, Jay Scott, Randy Harris, Parrish Giles, Sean

McGlothlin and Craig Smith.

NAYS: None ABSENT: None ABSTAINING: None

On roll call vote the motion carried 9-0.

On motion by Mr. Craig Smith, seconded by Mr. Randy Harris to award a five (5) year "Sole Provider" contract in Rapides Parish for "Emergency Ambulance" and "Non Emergency Ambulance" transport services to Pafford EMS as recommended by Ambulance Advisory Committee subject to and conditioned upon the following:

- 1) a CONTRACT being drafted that requires the ambulance provider to provide strict compliance with our Parish Ambulance Ordinances;
- 2) the stationing of an Air Med helicopter 24 hours 7 days a week on duty in Rapides Parish;
- 3) the stationing of in Rapides Parish of a MINIMUM:
  - a. 12 ALS Emergency Transport Ambulances with 12 Certified Paramedics
  - b. 10 BLS Non Emergency Transport Ambulances for 24 hour 7 days a week service;
- 4) a 90 % compliance ratio monthly with the new Parish Response Times Zone Map;

- 5) and Emergency Intelligence Communications system for the Parish to be able to accurately monitor and track ALL emergency ambulance calls and Accurate Response Times by the Provider; AND
- 6) an one (1) YEAR PROBATIONARY PERIOD at the end of which the Ambulance Control Board shall report to the Police Jury about whether or not to continue the contract for the remaining four (4) years.

Roll call vote was as followed:

YEAS: Bubba Moreau, Jay Scott, Randy Harris, Parrish

Giles, and Craig Smith.

NAYS: Randy Wiggins, Ollie Overton, Danny Bordelon, and Sean

McGlothlin

ABSENT: None ABSTAINING: None

On roll call vote the motion carried 5-4.

Motion by Mr. Craig Smith, seconded by Mr. Jay Scott there being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:01 p.m.

Theresa Pacholik, Secretary/Treasurer
Rapides Parish Police Jury

Craig Smith, President
Rapides Parish Police Jury